Beside a lot of advantages, some people believe that the Internet creates more problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In the current society, it is universally believed that the internet has been gaining its

popularity at an amazing rate. Some people assert that the internet bring us a lot of

benefits while many others argue that its drawbacks should not be ignored. It is quite

understandable that people from different backgrounds put different interpretations

on the same issue.

Those who favor that the internet has many advantages give their reasons as follows.

In the first place, it is obvious that the internet brings us great convenience and

efficiency. For example, we can send Emails to our friends in other countries in a

few minutes while sending a traditional letter takes us at least a week and costs much.

In the second place, it is a well-known fact that we can make friends with people

from all parts of world. Apparently, It overcomes the geographical barriers and

makes the world smaller. Furthermore, it is true that the internet accelerates the flow

of information and spreads education to all corners of the globe. In other words, we

can have easy and quick access to the latest information worldwide.

On the other hand, some other people hold different attitudes argue that the internet

has many weaknesses. For one thing, it seems that it can easily lead to psychological

problems. For instance, an internet-addicted person tends to be isolated, self-centered and unsociable. For another, it is obvious that there is a sharp rise in the number of cyber-crimes. More and more financial crimes such as money laundering

are committed via the internet. In addition, it also has negative impacts on young

people because there are a lot of obscene and violent contents on line.

There is probably a little bit of truth in both arguments. For my part, I completely

agree with the latter view that the internet has more disadvantages than advantages.

It gives rise to people’s mental problem. It results in various computer crimes. It is

harmful to the growth of the youth. Therefore, something should be done as soon as

possible to protect people from negative effects of the internet.