The best way to reduce youth crimes is to teach their parents parental skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some part of society holds the belief that teaching parents how to raise children is the only one effective measure which could be taken in order to decrease crime rate among youngsters. While better parenting skills can considerably help to remedy this issue, I believe that other actions such as providing free sport facilities for children could be equally effective.

There is no doubt that educating parents, who play the main role in shaping a child's behavior, is essential for safe society, thus special courses should be developed. Such a program could provide information about psychological characteristics of children at different ages. As a result, parents will be able to spot deviations from normal behavior and could help their children to overcome mental problems. In addition, these courses could teach parents how to educate their children what should be considered favorable or poor. Recent research has revealed that strong moral principles and deep understanding of positive and negative actions help youngsters to avoid involvement in criminal activity.

However, in my opinion, parenting courses is not the only way to solve the rising crime rate of young criminals. Due to the fast paced life parents are lacking free time and pay low attention to their children. As a result, young individuals are spending their leisure time on the streets, where they interact with peers or even adult offenders, who are ruling the street life. In contrast, if youngsters spent time, for example, doing sports they would avoid such a negative surrounding. Nevertheless, children from poor families are limited in the ability to be involved in sport activities, because their parents could not afford to pay for it, thus, I believe the government should provide sport facilities and equipment for free.

In conclusion, even though improving parenting skills is an effective measure to decrease crime rate of young offenders, free sport facilities provided to youngsters could also solve this issue.