The best way to solve the world’s environmental problem is to increase the price of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Environmental protection is always a controversial topic. Some people suggest higher fuel prices as the solution to environmental issues. From my perspective, even though increasing the prices of gas or coal might reduce consumptions, the natural environment can not benefit from the increased fuel prices at all.

Some may argue that rising prices on dirty energy could force both individuals and organizations to turn to clean ones. The idea sounds reasonable. However, there are still some practical problems needing to be solved. First of all, not all countries or regions can access clean energy like solar, hydro or wind resources. Second, although clean fuel technology has been developed for decades and achieved some compliments already, it is still not mature enough to replace the traditional fuel such as gas, diesel or coal. For example, nuclear energy has been considered as a clean, safe and economical energy. Nevertheless, even Japan, the country with the highest percentage of nuclear energy reactors, still relies on fuels for over 50% of energy supply. Therefore, to raise the price of fuel is not a feasible way.

Moreover, opposite to people's expectations, I believe that increasing fuel prices will negatively impact environmental protection. Almost all developing countries lack the means of finance and technologies to construct or switch to new clean energy. In this case, the increased prices on fuel will put these countries in hardship, which will lead to more exploration of natural resources, such as deforestation or overharvesting. Consequently, both the environment and the country suffer. Another worse situation caused by the price increase is those countries whose economy is based on fuel selling businesses. Inevitably, these countries will over-explore nature to earn more profit from better prices. As a result, the environment will be damaged in order to take more resources. For instance, the area of dessert in gulf countries has been expended for 50% due to the exploration of oil.

In conclusion, to adopt higher prices on fuel is not a practical way to solve environmental issues. On the contrary, it will cause worse situations to the environment.