Can the Internet replace museums and galleries?

There are more and more cities have their own museums and galleries. Some people argue that public museums and galleries can be replaced by browsing artworks on the Internet. In my view, I totally disagree with this idea.

It is obvious that the experience in museums and galleries are far better than watching pictures or videos online. No matter how high-resolution the multimedia can show, it can not give us a real and direct feeling about the works of art. The atmosphere in public museums and art galleries are spectacular, which also can not be presented through the Internet. For example, the lighting and layout of museums are a crucial element of the exhibition. In addition, it is evident that not all the artworks can be viewed from the Internet, except for some of the masterpieces.

Furthermore, the museums and galleries are symbols of the culture of a city. By acquiring knowledge from museums and galleries, we can better know the background of local people and promote cultural fusion. They spread the history and civilization of the local place while undertaking the responsibilities of education, especially for children. Kids can be inspired by the spirits of delicate antiques and art. Sometimes there are also guides explain the sources and meaning of artworks, or even answer questions of guests.

In a nutshell, public museums and galleries can offer a better experience for tourists, while it is also meaningful to education as a symbol of a city. Therefore, I think the Internet is impossible to replace the position of these public exhibition places.