Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks.

Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

Social networking has dramatically changed the way people interact with others. As the same time, privacy information leaking has become a should not be ignored issue. In my perspective, social media has been a vital living tool, although today we still face the risk of sharing personal data.

Nowadays, it is quite easy and quick to chat with your friend, family, and community, no matter how far they are. Also, it is unprecedentedly convenient to meet new friends through social media. For instance, there are thousands of people from all over the world connect with each other by all kinds of software or websites, like Twitter, Facebook, and YouTube. Although our privacy information is likely to be used to analyze in advertisements, I do not think it is a serious problem as long as it would not fall into wrong hands. It is not a bad thing to give you an idea of what gift should be bought to the friend in his or her birthday when you have thought so hard or recommend some similar songs according to your favor.

On the other hand, some people argue that our private data might be misused and even be sold to some individual or organization without our permission. It is well known that Facebook is accused of giving information to others who use for political purpose. And our private may easily be hacked by identity thieves, as we could see it happened many times that our databases in some social media were leaked.

To sum up, I prefer the idea that the advantages of using social media surpass the disadvantage, as long as the private information can be protected cautiously in an appropriate way.