Some people think that developed countries have a higher responsibility to combat climate change than developing countries. Others believe that all countries should have the same responsibilities towards protecting the environment.

With the world is getting warmer, it is controversial whether developed countries should take more responsibilities. In my view, developed countries ought to do more effort to save the planet from the threat of climate change due to their historical responsibility.

One often hears the argument that it is all very well to preach equity but given the planetary emergency the world face from combat climate change we must put aside the equity principle in the interests of humanity as a whole. Furthermore, developing countries are likely discharging more and more source of fossil-fuel emission. For example, China is today’s biggest emitter, as they may emit twice as much carbon dioxide as the United States. Therefore, some people claim that it is a global responsibility to solve the current problem.

However, what many people fail to realize is that global warming is the consequence of the stock of greenhouse gas emissions, which has accumulated in the Earth’s atmosphere as a result of fossil fuel based industrial activity in the industrialized countries of the world. So I would argue that if developed countries do not make significant and absolute reductions in their emissions, there will be a progressively smaller carbon space available to accommodate the development needs of developing countries. Developing countries are doing much more than most developed countries, adopting economical energy methods of growing, conserving energy, promoting renewable, etc. For example, China’s emissions per person are still much lower than the United States’. On average, each Chinese citizen with a much smaller environmental footprint. In addition, they could do more if they had access to finance, technology and capacity building from developed countries.

To summarize, countries can contribute according to capacities and resource availability. At the same times, developed countries should be accountable for fossil-fuel-intensive economies since the industrial revolution. Also, they should provide more funds and high-tech support for dedicate to this problem.