Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now one big traffic jam.

How true do you think this statement?

What measures can government take to discourage people from using their cars?

Nowadays, what is the reason for increasing the traffic jam in major cities, it is resulted due to the rate of car ownership, which is rapidly raised up over the last thirty years. So, this essay will explain about the arguments of reason behind traffic jam and how it will reduce by encouraging people with sort of solutions.

First of all, in this competitive era, car companies provide attractive offers in terms of discounts on price of car and many more. Therefore, people was attracting towards the car ownership and resulted the car population in major metro cities. In addition to this, there are also certain reasons like improving the level of living and many more, which affected the traffic jam. According to the survey, in 1990 to 2010, in the London city, traffic jam was raised upto 60% because of increasing rate of the car ownership day-to-day.

On the other hand, to tackle this situation, government would take some steps towards discouragement of car ownership. Firstly, government would implement some taxes on the price of car. Thus, people will think first, while they will buy the car. Secondly, government would launch the public transport with good interior facility. Hence, citizens will attract towards the public transport instead of their own cars. According to the report of ministry of road and transport, 35% of people do not use their own cars for daily transport activities. As a result of this, traffic jam reduced by 15%.

To conclude this topic, it is quiet obvious that the traffic jam would be reduced by applying the certain solution like reducing car ownership and using more and more public transport.