Children are facing more pressure nowadays from academic social and commercial perspectives What are the causes of these pressures and what measures should be taken to reduce these pressures

There is no doubt that in recent years there has been an increase in the amount of pressure which children face. This essay will discuss the main causes of these pressures from academic, social and commercial points of view and propose measures which could be taken to mitigate these problems.

With regards to the academic perspective, many children are constantly worrying about getting high grades and being at the top of their classes. This is because in our society there is supposedly a clear path to success – one has to study hard, be admitted into a top-tier university and, then, get a well-paid job. However, there are examples of people without a prestigious degree who were able to become successful, such as Jennifer Lawrence. To tackle this issue, parents should not press their descendants too hard to do what they think is “the right way” and let them do more what they enjoy doing.

Turning to the social and commercial problems, magazines and the internet have created an idea of a “perfect person”, who buys particular items and looks in a certain way. As children often make role models out of these people, they tend to imitate them, which may result in anxiety and sometimes in serious health problems. For example, if a teenager eats too little to become slimmer, this behavior may result in anorexia. Dealing with these issues involves parents helping their offspring to develop their self-confidence internally, and not externally.

In conclusion, studying too hard and trying to imitate others may lead to anxiety, which may negatively affect children’s health and performance. However, these problems could be mitigated if parents give their descendants more freedom and help them to develop self-confidence internally.