Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports for younger children). To what extend do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that community services have an important role in our society. However, while some people argue that this activity should be unpaid and a mandatory part of high school curriculum, I would completely disagree with this point of view.

First of all, in my opinion, community services should not be unpaid. This is because if one performs a job, they deserve to receive a monetary compensation. Although it is understandable that some people are ready to work for free, as they get positive emotions from helping people, it is not true for everybody. Moreover, by being paid, children may learn to value their work more, which may lead to improving their self-esteem. In contrast, if teenagers were not paid, some of them would feel undervalued, as unwanted and unpaid labor may be considered by some to be a form of slavery.

Secondly, I disagree that this work should be compulsory. The main purpose of community service tasks is to teach children to respect others and to appreciate the world around them. However, when this work becomes obligatory, teens may not learn these lessons, as for them it may become a burden and not a pleasure. Let us take physical education as an example. Many adults do not like it just because in their school years they were obliged to attend boring lessons, even though physical activity has many benefits, both for the body and for the mind.

In conclusion, I disagree with the opinion that unpaid community service should be compulsory for high school students, as this job should be paid and voluntary.