Children nowadays watch significantly more television than those in the past, which reduces their activity levels accordingly. Why is this the case?

What measures can you suggest to encourage higher levels of activity among children?

It goes without saying that, on a daily basis, children tend to devote more time to watching tv compared to the past from which their lower activity levels derive. In this essay, I will offer some compelling reasons leading to this case and suggest solutions to the question of how to increase the activity rates of children.

There is no exaggeration to say that this situation is resulted from a myriad of factors. Despite general understanding of technology as being standardizing people's life, it is a mixed blessing. In other words, developed technology obviously give children more channels with a wealth of films as well as programmes than in the past. This leads to the fact that children are likely to never feel bored as they can watch anything interesting they want. Not only does the diversity of channels cause excessive watching tv today but a lack of parents' control is also a key reason. Parents are now so busy that they seem to pay less attention to their children such as letting them stay at home alone. Sometimes, it is due to the misunderstanding about taking advantage of tv. In detail, some people claim that the more they watch tv, the better knowledge they gain. As a result, children abuse tv and not enrol in outdoor activities.

For such reasons, it is high time parents borne a duty to restrict the several hours children spend on watching tv to a reasonable figure, particularly 2 hours. Moreover, they had better recommend children to play more sports and let them take part in outdoor activities like doing charity, going camping. Children also should be raised awareness of how harmful if they overuse tv so that they can balance their time appropriately. Furthermore, it is school's responsibility to organize more extracurricular activities for students to participate, which will probably cut back on the figure for hours they watch tv effectively.

In conclusion, it is not absurd to argue that, opposed to the past, children have a tendency to watch more tv so it is about time for the adult to bear their responsibility as I have mentioned above.