A company has announced that it wishes to build a large factory near your locality.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this new influence on your community.

Do you support or oppose the factory establishment?

Explain your position.

Experts from the city council have debated whether a colossal factory should be allowed to construct in the proximity to our neighbourhood. Alongside the arguments from both sides, the sociological discoveries have casted light on the consequence of this proposal in accordance with the gain in job vacancies and the detrimental effects on the environment. This essay will discuss both views and support the construction of this factory, using the examples from these academic work.

To begin with, the increase in job opportunities that are probably available to our residents is intuitively perceived as the upside of introducing the new factory. The central reason of this is twofold, firstly this can alleviate the strain of general livelihood caused by economic downturn and unemployment. Secondly, the production of this factory can foster our societal development. In fact, recent empirical research from the Hong Kong University has established that various business sectors entailing logistic, marketing and accounting, to a considerable extent, would be benefited as service partners of this factory in the construction stage. Consistent with this line of thinking is that extra profits would be generated prior to its launch in the future. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that the emergence of this factory increases the likelihood of reviving our economy.

Although there is a case for bringing revenue to the community, the plausible implication of this factory on our neighbourhood cannot be overstated, in particular the potential discharges that are deemed detrimental to the environment. This is largely because the waste entailing chemical and heavy metal would be emptied into the connecting rivers, which could then beget a seismic shift to the solid composition nearby. For instance, according to an extensive study from the Hong Kong University, the productivity of the agricultural area nearby will probably be halved when the factory operates without any preventive measures. Admittedly, extra facilities could be established to alleviate the matters of these wastes; however, the cost is deemed significant. Seen in this light, the company of this factory should take environmental protection into consideration prior to its construction.

In conclusion, there is ample evidence suggesting that the factory could effectively provide a wide range of position to our local citizen. Given that the company has recognised the ramification, it is predicted that the proposal will be supported by over half of the residents in the foreseeable future.