Compare the advantages and disadvantages of three of the following as media for communicating information. State which you consider to be the most effective - comics, books, radio, television, film, theatre.

Nowadays media has a role to play to dissipate information worldwide. There are various medias such as comics, books, radio, television, film and theatre. As per my opinion, books, television and radio are still powerful in today’s context. Following essay will describe various advantages are disadvantages of those relevant medias.

If we look backword in history, books were mostly used by human ancestors, followed by radio, and television is most modern medium. Books were mostly written to record information regarding history, scientific development and travel details, which are useful to current generation as well. With advent of radio, masses get updates on worldwide happening instantly, and that carved or reshaped their lives. For instance, India’s independence speech was heard by millions of Indians over radio on 15th Aug 1947. 1975 onwards television became popular, although it was tool used by richer populace that time, it took years to bring television to overall population, thanks to electronic developments. But yes, current generation totally relies on television for news updates and for any form of knowledge acquision with connectivity of internet.

Nevertheless, books are still preferred for in detail views of authors, experts. They are coming with color photos of situation to make it live in front of reader, same is condition about TV, it gives all round perspective of situation with audio-visual of action. This is lacking in radio, but this is preferred medium of communication in remote places, like interiors of Africa. And this is boon to blind people, like TV is gift to dumb people. With time to time news, radio, is widely used by less privileged people, and this media still away from broad commercialization and hence bias or distortion of information. This type of unethical things are becoming common in books and TV.

To sum up, every form of media has some or the other deficiencies and loop holes, along with benefits they offer. It is upto user of media to be sage and prudent.