All educational facilities should be funded by the government. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answers.

In today’s modern society, institutions and universities are always craving for consistent flow of funding for upgrading their facilities and sustaining in cut-throat competition. Some citizens feels that all such educational bodies should be financially supported by bureaucrats or state rulers. I believe this partially, which is being explained in following essay.

In majority of countries, it was and is a time tested remedy to fund and support educational facilities, mainly to allow talended poor students to carry out their education hasslefree and in enriched way. While getting aid from government departments, these institutes have to follow stringent norms and be consistent in their policy towards delivery of knowledge. For instance, AICTE is govt body which regulates technical education colleges in India. These institutes have to report on quarterly basis. Thus, major energy of management gets wasted in doing such monotonous work, allowing less time for their obligation towards students. Such students may get on paper good impression of government aided institute but may fail in practical life after education.

This may not be case for non-aided institutes, as most of them are either supported by industries or some organizations. And may also get deemed university or autonomous status. Take case of famous UDCT institute in Mumbai, which runs wholely on pharma research projects from industry. In total, students from these colleges are more versatile, are exposed to practical aspect of education. Non-support by govt is in a way boon to these institutes for getting free hand in handling students and making them more competitive. For example, Autonomous college engineering student won award for electric car in Pune city.

To sum up, institutes should seek need based govt funding, subsequent regulations in order to work more flexibly in today’s competitive world.