Compare the advantages and disadvantages of three of the following as media for communicating information. State which consider to be the most effective.

Comics

Books

radio

television

film

theater

Recently, the phenomenon miscellaneous types of media and its corresponding impacts have sparked a long-running dispute. In this regard, apart from enormous benefits of such distinctive media as film, comics, books, radio, TV, and theater, their disadvantages should be taken into account. In my mind, amongst several communicating media, books, radio, and film have higher priorities.

First of all, we should consider books as the first means of information dissemination. According to archaeologists, our ancestors all around the four corners of the globe, tended to write down in various stuffs such as leather or wooden plates. Hence, books are the oldest media among all other types. Authors have the ability to spread their ideas and innovations by means of books regardless of time or expenditure. Meanwhile, readers under any circumstances have the opportunity to peruse books. However, we shouldn’t lose sight of spending at least a couple of hours, even weeks, to complete reading a tome.

Undoubtedly, radio is the medium of voice. Radio paves the way to promote audiences’ creativity, as psychologists’ findings. Unlike such media as cinema or theater, purchasing fairly expensive tickets is not considered as difficulties. Nevertheless, such humans as who suffer hearing disabilities cannot exploit radio.

Turning to film, films, consequently cinema industry were born at early 1900s. As history of cinema says, films were silent at first decades and Hollywood along with its Asian version, Bollywood, are monarchies of cinema realms nowadays. Film-makers and supporter companies are capable of elucidating their beliefs and thoughts through three-hour films. Some critics are of the opinion that film is ranked as the most powerful media due to recent sophisticated visual effects. In contrast, spending rather big proportion of family budget or time are considered as its negative sides.

To sum up, despite compelling arguments on cons and pros of different media, I opt to support vigorously the idea that books are the most priceless medium during the written history of mankind. Who knows where we are now without the advent of writing and books?