As computers can translate all languages very quickly and accurately, learning a foreign language is a waste of time. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, thanks to the advanced computers with high precision in translation, it is sometimes argued that being a bilingual is not as beneficial as it used to be. However, I do not agree that technology can meet all human's need in learning new languages.

For a variety of reasons it would be wrong to just rely on various computer programs or different websites to understand a second language. Firstly, it is evident that in today's globalized world mastering one or more foreign languages can open up a tone of career opportunities to people. In fact, in similar circumstances in terms of educational background or relevant work experiences, a multilingual candidate is more likely to be selected for a specified position, without considering their ability to use translator applications. Secondly, knowing other languages, in addition to mother tongue, people are able to understand different cultures deeply. For instance, the more travelers gain a profound insight into local languages natives are speaking, the more they enrich their experiences; which is undoubtedly impossible just by using technology.

At the same time, from an individual perspective, learning a foreign language is one of the best way to enhance the mind potential. It has been proved that as people are aging, the capacity of their brain cells are decreasing unless they keep their mind active by practicing a new language they had not been familiar before. In other words, no matter how old people are, dominating a different language not only is not a waste of time, but also can follow a series of positive results such as memory improvement, longer attention span and a reduced risk of age-related cognitive decline. In contrast, depending on computers to understand various text written in foreign languages or communicate with people around the world may be considered as a temporary solution which can make people's mind to be less efficient gradually.

In conclusion, although progressive translator applications can assist people in emergency situations, I believe that people are yet required to learn at least one foreign language to take its advantages.