In contemporary society, everyone should have equal opportunities in education. Therefore, universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The issue of access to the education of similar quality for everyone has always aroused heated debated. Due to widely held perception, the same number of men and woman should be allowed to attend all the disciplines while studying in the University. I personally believe that although women’ role in the society was not related to the career previously and consequently their educational development at the similar level with men was not prioritized, today the situation has changed.

On the one hand, some women are discouraged to practice some professions due to their gender identity and subsequently to study certain disciplines. Such professions include a work in police, politics, security forces or science, despite the fact that the history comprises many examples women-professionals in these spheres. Moreover, a significant number of barriers are being created for female applicants in the admission procedure for the specific faculties and the priority is generally given to men candidates. Enrolment trends at the University of Gayana, where two girls even had to sue with the admissions committee over the unfair results of the preliminary test, are a clear indication the patterns triggered by the gender prejudices. Thus, as men are considered more effective in performing definite professional obligations, the access to the specific job trainings is not available for women to the same extent.

On the other hand, the special attention is paid to the struggle against gender discrimination in education as it is the most striking manifestation of the general gender inequality, strongly combated nowadays. Therefore, UNESCO promotes gender equality through and within the educational system, encouraging the solution of problems at all the levels. Most commonly, it develops programs, increasing girls’ and women’ availability to studying all the subjects in formal and informal forms through information and communication technologies. For instance, according to the research implemented by Harvard University, 89% of the educational facilities in 2021 have established innovative approaches in order girls could sign for various disciplines. Hence, female students acquire just as much knowledge as male ones because of the measures aimed at eradication of disparity in learning processes.

In conclusion, I would like to stress that in present day realities despite the hurdles connected with the believes in men’ stronger competency in some fields, the tendency of women’ encouragement to gain education in the preferred area, enhances. To date, all effort to reduce the gender gap in the education is being undertaken so as to provide all the conditions for the female part of the society to study at their full potential as men.