Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Thanks to the internet, the world is now a global village where, within a short amount of time, any kind of necessity is met. Yet, I think that globalization is wholly the positive thing for two reasons: less cost and high quality of products.

Firstly, globalization has made high prices of items decline which are on the top of a demand list. One of the major challenges people have faced till today is the over-priced cars. Because of competition in global market, people are able to buy their dream car, for example, through booking online. Although customs duties may restrict free flow of goods from other parts of the globe, the cost still can be relatively cheap compared to the locally produced ones. Last year, I purchased Tesla E6, a cheap and environmentally friendly car, from the USA without additional cost for shipment, making the transaction process easy in customs.

Secondly and even more importantly, people these days can buy quality products for the less cost arisen from globalization. In the past it was said that only wealthy people could buy quality items being available in different parts of the world. However, nowadays everyone buys those so called products in exchange of small amount of money, which was only dream before. If there was not internet, the gap between rich and poor would have increased, not allowing everyone to buy superior products at a reasonable price. For example, people could purchase expensive, yet quality clothes from several countries, but, it is a global process now that people can do so whether they are financially abundant or not

In conclusion, not only has the similarity among countries in trade had a huge impact on a decreased cost of valuable products such as cars, but also the widening gap between rich and poor is not ubiquitous, meaning that everyone is able to buy quality goods for the less cost.