Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In modern life, due to the availability of similar goods around the world, many nations are looking alike. And many people start to consider the positive and negative effects that this phenomenon provides. From my own view, this circumstance could have both advantages and disadvantages in equal measure.

On one hand, having the same goods anywhere has numerous benefits for both consumers and companies. From the customers' perspective view, instead of going abroad to get stuff they desire to get, they can access local shops or supermarkets and search for those products, which create opportunities for people to spend more time for other jobs or their family, friends. Moreover, without traveling overseas, buyers can save a significant amount of money since they are no longer to pay taxes. In terms of producers, they can earn more profit because many people tend to buy stuff in their local area, especially when they are in an urgent situation. Thus, competition between companies will motivate them for more creativity, innovation for their products, which help them earn the reputation and trust of customers.

On the other hand, there are some drawbacks to this development. Firstly, some local products might be affected since an enormous amount of good products they can purchase in other countries such as Japan or Germany, which can push them to bankrupt and jobless for many workers. Secondly, this situation can deteriorate a nation’s culture. As a result, domestic product will act as a replacement for the cultural one.

In conclusion, this phenomenon has both beneficial and detrimental effects on individuals and companies, so people should weigh the pros and cons to balance the situation.