Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, learning a new language plays a crucial role in the modern world, but when it is the right time for people to gain this knowledge. Many experts argue that studying them at primary school is better than the elementary school. From my viewpoint, the advantages provided by this method far outweigh its disadvantages.

Many reasons that support the idea of the benefits of learning a second language. The obvious explanation for the idea is that young children can learn new knowledge more effectively than the older one since, at that age, their brains can obtain numerous amounts of information. They, therefore, tend to be willing to receive more knowledge, which teenagers are losing out, to satisfy their curiosity. Another response to this concept is the education programs for the primary’s timetable allows children to expose new language more frequently while elementary programs are lacking. For example, in Vietnam, young children have to learn only 7 or 8 subjects, while this number for teenagers is 13 or 14.

There are, however, some drawbacks that counterweight the advantages. Learning a new language can make youngsters confused, as they still have to learn their native language, which may provide negative results for them. If they learn their first language and the new one simultaneously, they may have a misunderstanding of the grammar of both languages. Thus, the outcome of receiving information on children can, therefore, be different. This disadvantage can be explained by not all children have equal study levels, and not all primary education systems have the same method of teaching, resulting in a wide range of levels of youngsters for elementary schools not only foreign language but also other subjects. Fortunately, everyone can solve this drawback.

In conclusion, given the various negatives of introducing a new language to children, I believe that the benefits can overcome the drawbacks and that children should study a foreign language while they are in primary schools.