Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

What other measures do you think might be effective?

There is no doubt to say that the large amount of vehicles has caused serious troubles to the traffic and the environment, which leads to different solutions for this problem. While many people say that raising the petrol’s cost is the most efficient way for this dilemma, I believe that more solutions should be applied to solve the problem.

The major explanation for the rise of traffic and emissions is the expansion of private automobiles such as cars, motorbikes. Therefore, rising gas rates appears to be an effective way to fix this, but in fact, this effect is unlikely to reduce long-term driver numbers. Furthermore, this solution would also impact the public transit costs, which will have adverse effects for many people, especially the poor. However, there are various approaches can contribute to dealing with the rise of traffic and environment corruption.

In terms of the environment, cleaner fuels are the perfect choice for tackling the problem. Numerous technology companies are already producing environmentally-friendly vehicles. Tesla's electric car is a typical automobile can be named out since its performance can be compared with a car using gasoline, and it produces less noise and no emissions. Thus, the way an electric car is used is similar to using a conventional car, meaning that everybody can quickly embrace this revolutionary technology without any difficulty.

However, solving traffic congestion is more complicate than the environment, and the most realistic approach is persuading people of changing the transport mode, from private automobile to public transits. People, for example, can travel by commuter bus or city train rather than using private vehicles as they were designed to travel a long distance and carry a large number of passengers. Furthermore, people can save a great amount of money for fuel since it costs a few money.

In conclusion, raising the gasoline’s expenditure is not an effective means of minimizing the road congestion and pollution in the long term, and the means we move from conventional car to hybrid car and public transports should be modified.