It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

Educating young people’s ability to notice right and wrong has played a crucial role for them to become good citizens, especially when they were juveniles. And some people believe that enforcing sanctions on them is the best way to nurturing them. Personally, I strongly disagree with this notion.

There are numerous explanations that contradict the above-mentioned theory. Firstly, harsh punishment can bring negative consequences for juveniles that parents are unable to notice. This will impair children’s damage the physical, and especially mental health. A kid who suffered these penalties tend to have a mental disorder in the future. Furthermore, children might lead themselves further to the incorrect way, which eventually can become a criminal. Secondly, when adults abuse children, that means they are violating the children protection laws. And going to prison is the final penalty for those parents.

Therefore, if sanctions for bad children is a must, then physical abuses or harsh punishments is not allowed. Instead, there are many light penalties that parents and teachers can apply to educate juveniles. Cutting down their daily money, or game time are the appropriate ways to discipline a child. Another effective approach is letting the kid to take the responsibility for their works and adjust their works since they have times to judge their acts carefully and realize why they are being punished. By having these experiences, children can learn the lessons faster and more efficiently.

In conclusion, punishment should not be required to teach children because it can create significant drawbacks. They can be replaced by lighter but more effective penalties to help them learn the right things to do.