Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many people have different opinions about how to prosecute individuals who make a crime. While some argue that it will be easier to use established rules on certain criminals, I believe that it will be better if we consider other factors that commit the crime to determine the penalty.

On the one hand, fixed punishments will create a deterring effect on society, which also makes a stable and secure society. If people know they will get a particular penalty for a certain crime, they will try their best to stay away from crimes and comply with the laws. For example, in Vietnams’ criminal code, the person engaged in killing will have to pay compensation to the victim and will be imprisoned for a certain amount of time.

On the other hand, there are various reasons why crime should be judged bases on different factors. The main explanation that supports the view is that some claim that many circumstances can motivate people to act illegally. Poverty, for instance, can push people to the corner and make them have negative thoughts that cause them to commit a crime. Furthermore, in some cases, the court must consider whether the defendant shows any sign of repentance after the crime committed. If a person commits a crime and have a sense of guilt and wishes to confess to the police, the court will reduce the punishments rate for them as a way to alleviate anxiety and an effective way to help them return to their honest life.

In conclusion, although fixed punishments are necessary to control humans’ behaviors, it seems to me that we should notice on the circumstances of a crime, and the motivation for committing it when it comes to setting the penalty for offenders.