In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Mankind has witnessed the vast development of technology within a short amount of time, including the way people read information. While many agree that paper documents are no longer necessary since they can search on the Internet for the digital one for free, I partly disagree with this statement.

On the one hand, the benefits of reading digital books or newspapers are undeniable, especially in modern society. Everyone now has their own smartphone or tablet, and the existence of the cloud, so users can download free books or documents and store them in it. As a result, their reading experience becomes much simpler. In terms of the economy, the producers can save a huge budget from the money that they used to buy the ingredients to produce those papers. Another important advantage that is worth considering is the environmental effect. Because online documents can be read on electric devices, which means enormous amounts of trees from the forest can be saved. All of these factors make digital books or magazines become the best choice for people.

Despite the advantages mentioned above, it does not mean that printed books are not necessary recently. If the time readers spend time on e-books excessively, it can cause negative health effects for the users such as short-sighted eyes, insomnia, and so on. This can be proven by numerous researches that in the era of technology, far more students suffer from damaged eyesight than in the past. Furthermore, traditional printed documents have existed for centuries, and some of them contain valuable knowledge from our ancestors. And these paper scripts are still of great significance until now but can hardly be found on the Internet.

In conclusion, although online books and newspapers have positive effects for readers in the age of technology, it seems to me that the replacement of physical documents is impossible to be done.