Some people believe that unpaid community services should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Free social services have played an important role for both the contributors and the society. And some argue that these activities should be required for high school students. Personally, I agree with this idea but at a certain level.

Bringing social services as a part of the education program can provide many benefits to the students and the community. For the students, participating in these activities provides time for them to develop soft skills since the lack of time for social skills at school. And community services are the opportunity for them to learn life skills. In addition, students who have soft skills tend to have a better career in the future because they have the experience to deal with the same problems they met when they were younger. In terms of society, these programs clearly can help some people in need of help. While there are numerous poor people or the disabled in the society that need assistance and the lack of community services, students and teachers can make their own move to help those people feel happy and maybe motivate them to come through the situation.

However, I believe that community programs should be taken by high school students voluntarily. The main reason is the amount of time studying at school, not to mention that they have to do daily homework or taking the test. And taking the social services will reduce the study time of the students. Another explanation is that students need to have their own time for their habit to relieve stress and gain energy in order to study effectively.

In conclusion, it is undeniable to say that doing unpaid works can bring numerous advantages for high school students, I firmly believe these activities should not be taken as a compulsory part of the school programs.