Many museums charge for admission while others are free.

Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

Entrance fees of numerous museum is considered as one of the most concern problems in modern society. Some people believe this phenomenon can bring beneficial effects for the museum and the economy, while others argue that the drawbacks of this action can surpass the advantages. Personally, I think the positive side of the situation is far more exceed the opposite side.

On the one hand, the rise of admission charge on citizens can limit people to come to the museum again. They are discouraged to access useful knowledge freely, especially the poor since they are unable to afford such expenditure or they will spend that money on the worthy items, services. From the museum’s perspective view, this will reduce this institution’s attraction because of the lack of guests come to this place. Moreover, this detrimental effect may force the operators to close down some historical locations as they lose more and more customers.

Despite the disadvantages mentioned above, entrance charges can be beneficial in various ways. Most prominently, the income from admission tickets provides long-term benefits, not only for electric payments or operation fees but also to improve the infrastructure and the artifacts. In addition, this improvement will attract more guests to visit the museum. In terms of the economy, since the museum’s operation charges can be paid by these ticket fees, governments are no longer provide support budgets for these buildings, so the money can be used for other urgent needs. Finally, employees’ salary can be paid by using this profit, which can prevent the unemployment problem.

In conclusion, while the negative impacts from entrance fees are inevitable, the advantages of this effect are way more surpass than the counterpart.