Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The development of transport infracstucture is considered one of the most controversial issues for the government. While some people believe the budget should be allocated to trains, others argue that roadways are the better option to broaden the transport of an area. In my view, both rails and roads can provide advantages that worth the authorities looking at depend on many factors.

On the one hand, investing in a railway system, especially hi-tech systems, can carry passengers and cargo to different locations faster thanks to the higher speed travel and less congestions compare to the private vehicles. Therefore, citizens can save time and concentrate on their jobs, which eventually improve their life. Another explanation for this notion is the amount of carbon emission from this transportation is much lower than cars or bikes. For example, in Japan, the high-speed rail systems use electricity to power the bullet trains, so no air pollution is created. Lastly, many researches show that the number of road accidents is much higher compare to rail casualties, so trains are safer than cars.

On the other hand, the beneficial impacts that private vehicles provided are undeniable. Most prominently, they are considered the easiest and most convenient method of transportations. Also, they can reach almost everywhere and connect facilities that people need such as shopping centers, hospitals, and education institutions. Furthermore, while the budget that authorities have to spend to improve the trains systems is enormous, this number of roads is a lot cheaper, so governments can save the railway cost for other important purposes.

In conclusion, there is no doubt to say that railways systems bring huge positive effects for a country, but road transports are also a worthy investment that government should consider. So, the decision whether rails or roads should be chosen carefully.