Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, people can purchase anything they want from any country in the world. While some believe that this development would cause the similarities of countries to increase. In my opinion, a change in human’s behavior is proof that the world is constantly making progress. Therefore, this development brings people more benefits. Furthermore, being able to go shipping online also means customers can pay less for the same product.

Firstly, a culture’s uniqueness is embodied in people’s blood, from skin color, pupil color to bone structure. These are the things that can’t be reversed. Let alone putting on an identical outfit with someone else would entirely erase the features or personality. In addition, being able to buy things worldwide is a splendid accomplishment. It requires strong technique support and human’s ability to adapt to new habits to make it possible. In addition, it requires a powerful system to implement this idea. From logistics, and website construction to online marketing, these fields contain all innovative ideas. Undoubtedly, this development is the acknowledgement of human’s milestone in history and it would be considered a positive one.

Secondly, this advancement brings people more convenience by providing customers budgeted prices and more choices. By avoiding buying through a retail store which benefits from the price difference, customers are likely to pay less for an exact same product when buying from overseas suppliers. For instance, around a decade ago, plenty of online stores in Taiwan sold clothes that were imported from Taobao, a wholesaler in China. While now consumers can directly place an order on Taobao website, the cost is greatly reduced.