You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, advocating public transport has become an emphasis on reducing air pollution caused by traffic. There are several reasons regarding most people rather driving their own car than taking public transportation, such as trains. For the majority of people, it’s considered as the fastest and most convenient way to travel from place to place. However, as a member of the young generation, who cares for the future of earth, I believe the funds on transportation should be spent on railways which have greater benefit for earth rather than on roads, the major source of air pollution.

First of all, the more people taking the train as a way to commute means less cars would be seen on the road, and of course, this leads to reduction of carbon dioxide. Furthermore, the fund spent on the railway shouldn’t be limited to daily rail care, but also for promoting railway transport, for example, discount on monthly tickets could encourage more citizens to take the train for the sake of money-saving. Imagine a train full of 400 passengers, which would be at most 400 cars less on the road a day, and 146000 cars less for a year.

People of this generation all carry the burden with highly stressed work, house mortgage and bills to pay, insomnia has become a common symptom for people who suffer from anxiety and stress. In addition, taking the train to work could be one of the solutions to make our lives a bit easier. It takes me at least two hours to go to work everyday. During my stressed and sleepless nights, long-distance travelling by train becomes a lifesaver, when I can steal a little time for napping, or even reading. Not only will the train be a more budgeted choice on travelling, in the long run, it also can be a relaxed way to commute.

Generally speaking, if the government spent more money on trains, it would do citizens more good than harm, the money should be spent the right way so that humans and earth can have a win-win situation.