Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world Do you think this is a positive or negative development

As a result of advancement in communication technologies the availability of similar product all over the world has made people become more and more similar. However, there are some drawbacks associated with this trend, I believe its main advantages are more substantial.

On the one hand, people, specially the ones who live in the less flourished countries are benefit a lot by given the opportunities to purchase original and good quality products from other countries. Furthermore, local factories and manufacturers become oblige to upgrade their materials as well as set more reasonable price to keep up with the huge competition in the market. This trend will open door for more innovations and creativity because all companies will try their hard to arrive in the international market by constant improvements of their design and materials. This not only will lead to the economic growth of countries but also individuals will experience more comfortable life as a result of new innovations.

On the other hand, cultural diversity and subsequently tourism industry will effect by this trend. If people become similar there is no reason for a tourist to go and visit foreign countries as they are already can see the same thing in their own countries. For example, every years Japan attract more visitors just because of its unique and pure culture and if Japanese citizens effect by western culture so it will not be a tourist destination anymore. However, one should consider that culture is an ever-changing process and it has changed a lot during the centuries by the influence of external factors so we are unable to protect it.

In conclusion, however there are some demerits associated with the similarity of individuals, I believe its main advantages in terms of economic growth and innovation are more important.