Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same product anywhere in the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

There is no doubt that in today’s era of globalisation, consumers are getting the benefit of purchasing identical products from the world arena. While many individuals consider it as a positive development, the negative impact should also be taken into consideration. I do not completely agree with this view and will discuss both positive and negative impacts with relevant examples.

On the one hand, the positive aspect is the easy accessibility of products to consumers. This is because, people can conviniently buy online products, which has made the lives easy and comfortable. For example, in my own experience, I had purchased a unique model of a laptop from Korea by online shopping. As a result, it was convenient for me to acquire the sophisticated software I had always desired to possess. In contrast, when products become easily available anywhere in the globe, its unique existence is perished.

On the other hand, the negative impact is observed on the economy of nations. The reason is, the lowering of prices due to competition among companies, which lead to a decline in profit of that firm. For instance, according to a study published in the UK news channel in 2011, it surveyed the purchase and easy availability of Apple phone throughout the world, which led to a competitive decline in its price. As a consequence, the company suffered a financial loss and took many years to recover from it. However, every country should have access to new technologies for the development and growth. Therefore, I believe that sharing of consumer products among territories can not affect its economy if the government set standard rules.

In conclusion, while it is a positive step for any nation to have an access to similar products of other countries, I also believe that the negative impact on economy and uniqueness of a product should also be taken into consideration.