Countries should produce the food that their population eats, and import as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons, examples to your answer.

Food plays a vital role in persons life. Soma masses think nations should have only sufficient food that their people eat and they import only limited quality that they must need. I partially agree with this statement. I will explore about the pros and cons of this notion and try to draw some conclusion.

To begin with, there are plethora of positive impacts if nation produce more food that their masses need. Because, if a country produce more food then they export the food and import some necessary items that they need. Due to this, nations economic development is increased as well as they make good relationships with other nations. For instance, UK and America have great bondings with each other. Because, UK export food to America and America export oil to UK. Moreover, if nation will store the more food then this will help the masses in disaster situations such as earthquake and so on. For instance, in 2016, Nepal was in under earthquake and the flood therefore, Indian authorities was helped them to gave necessary things.

On the flip side, there are some negative aspects on nation to produce more food. If a country produce only that their population eats then the nation become self dependent only. For instance, India buy all the food to America but unfortunately in 2012, America stoped the export to India then indian government launched HIV seeds and they grow these seeds. Now India becomes self dependent country.

To conclude, although nation produce food that is sufficient for population and the country is self dependent. Yet, if nation grows more food then they export this and increase GDP.