Crime is a big problem in the world; many people believe that nothing can be done to prevent it. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give your own opinion.

In recent decades, it is undeniable that crime has been one of the most serious issues facing governments. Therefore, methods to deal with it have been widely debated. Some believe that crime is a problem that can not be avoided. While this may be true to a certain extent, I would argue that there are some viable measures to curb crimes.

It is irrefutable that crime is a serious problem that could lead to severe consequences. Those who commit crimes would have to suffer from great disadvantages. They would be deprived of liberties as they are imprisoned due to their misdeed. In addition, they would likely be isolated from society even after they have served their sentence. Crimes could be a great danger to residents from all over the world. Thefts, burglars, murders would pose a significant threat to the safety of the population, driving them to live in fear and worry. Consequently, the standards of living of those who reside in areas rampant with illegal activities may reduce substantially. Therefore, crimes are no doubt one of the most serious issues facing modern society.

While some people argue that there are no feasible measures to curb the growth of crimes, I believe that governments could adopt some methods to deal with this problem. First, schools can provide more lessons teaching students virtues and moral codes to prevent juvenile delinquency. Second, governments should provide vocational training for prisoners. Thanks to this, they could be equipped with job-related skills; thus having more chances to blend in with the society after serving their sentence and reducing recidivism. Third, states should implement punitive measures to make criminals reflect on their mistakes so that they would not re-offend in the future. This method would also deter those who intend to commit crimes, hence helping to prevent unlawful acts.

In conclusion, I believe that although crime is a serious problem in modern society, there are some feasible solutions governments could adopt to remedy the situation.