Crime rate in most countries is often higher in urban areas than in rural areas Why do you think that is What can be done to reduce the crime rate

High rate of crime is more prevalent in the urban areas because of over population and diverse range of people come to dwell the urban areas, rather than rural areas where everyone is familiar with each other. the problem of crime rate in urban areas can be ameliorate in different ways

First job opportunities should be readily available to the working populations, for example in Nigeria if there is always availability of job, the youths would not ventures into kidnapping, scanning people on internet and so on. So government should make available of job for youths after graduation and in an equitable assigning of the work.

Another way to mitigate the high rate of crime is to provision of tight security in the urban areas. The issue of security conscious can not be over looked in terms of crime rate , well trained forces should be instigated in various places,and also local vigilantes.

Finally the uneducated population should be made self employed by giving them government incentives and training them in the various minial works such as hair dressing, sewing, agricultural.

In conclusion the ever increasing crime rate in urban areas can be minimised by providing job and also provision of security, providing incentives to the people in various sectors.if government will be able to make provision of these services, there will be little or no crime in the cities.