Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not by local people Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places

Recently the issue of foreigners mostly visiting the historical sites which are btourist centers than the indigenes do, has brought slot of attention. And the causes of this is very obvious and needs to be amend.

Firstly the problem of familiarity with the tourist center has made the people not to be attracted to the historical places because they know everything and all the stories behind each item in the museum, so the view of visiting the area visiting is no longer necessary for them .

Secondly the increase of ticket fare In the area discourages the one's that tried going there. For example in Nigeria people struggle to feed themselves due to the bad economy of the country that is even getting worse by the day, so many tourist center increase their entrance fee in other to make more earns in order to meet up. The" Obudu cattle ranch " for example charge much gate fee and cable car fee to take up the mountain, people in that vicinity do not go there but only foreigners.

Finally these problems can be adhered to ,if only certain measures are taking .the issue of over familiarity of these tourist centers / museums, the owners should at least edify the place by projecting the artifacts outside the place and also modernize the things they use for example if the artifacts are been displayed barely they can package it by putting it inside a transparent glass. then issue of increment of ticket fare , the discount should be given to the indigenes of the country in order to attract the local populations to visit the historical sites, so that the younger generation will be able to visit and add to their knowledge of what they already know.

In conclusion historical sites are mostly hosted by foreigners than the local populations do but these problems can be addressed if the government adhered to the solutions stated above in order to attract the attention of the people.