Cultural and historical education gained through museums and can also be gained through the Internet. Museums should be closed to give way to the Internet. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s world, with the rapid development pace of technology, the Internet plays an important role in our society. It is obvious that the information about culture and history can be gained through using the Internet. Therefore, museums should be closed to make way for the Internet. From my perspective, I am wholly convinced by this statement.

To begin with, the most frequent factor contributing to this view is that using the Internet for these purposes is much more convenient in comparison with visiting museums. To put it in another way, it is beneficial for people to study about or look into the different cultures or histories of other countries in the same time. Moreover, the websites regarding this field provide specific information, which lives up to the expectation of readers. One example to demonstrate this view is that, about history, a website named: “Library of Congress” which is an outstanding and invaluable site for American history and general studies, prints and photographs, saved recordings and motion pictures Likewise, coming to culture, the website called: “Creative Economy”, a British Council website, works in more than countries a year and provides the research tools, space and connections that creative communities need to experiment, learn and flourish. As the remarkable examples reveal, using these websites is much more useful than a tour to visit the museum.

In addition, one explanation to support this claim is that getting the information from the Internet might help people economize the expenditure spent on visiting a museum. This is shown by the following example. According to the survey in this field, an average price to visit Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel is ₤70 per person. Meanwhile, people do not need to spend money to get information via using the Internet.

Given the aforementioned points, it may be concluded that in the future museums will be replaced by the Internet when people need to investigate the issues with regard to culture and history because of benefits which online information brings as brought up above. As a result, I totally agree with this statement.