Cyber-bullying and cybercrimes are seen to be on the rise today. What are the causes for this? What are the solutions for this problem?

Nowadays, we must face a variety of threats from real life to the internet. This essay will closely examine two significant issues that happen continuously on social media platforms: cyber-bullying and cybercrimes. We should explore the causes and finding the solutions to deal with problems.

What the causes of cyber-bullying and cybercrime? Firstly, the rise of internet users has been increased dramatically. The active accounts in the well-known social platform such as Facebook, Instagram, or Twitter are plenty from teenager to older, that make the internets not different from the mess. As a result, the difference in age, culture, education, and perspective make cyber-harassment happen easily. For example, if we will see someone with black color skin, blonded dark hair, have opposite the standard of beauty in our culture, the first thing we do is typing negative comments to judge their appearances. This inadvertent judgment is cyber-bullying. Moreover, online communication encourages people to act aggressively or prompt them to do things they would not dare to try in real life. The ability to reach more people and the always-on culture of the internet mean that cyber-bullying can have even more detrimental effects on the victims than conventional playground bullying.

The question that is rising here is how to tackle these problems. First of all, we should consider the role of government. The governments have taken legislative actions and enacted strict laws. For the cybercrime side, each individual should study how to protect private information, computer or network. Moreover, we must take suitable security measures and be alerts and aware of important ways to prevent cyber intrusions and online crime when connected. Take a look at the cyber-harassment side; we consider blocking the bully and formally reporting their behaviors on the social platform itself. In addition, we could reach out to the security and privacy department of social platform companies to seek help. We must actively collect evidence, images, and offensive words to demonstrate that we are victims in all processes.

To sum up, the causes of cyber harassment are the complication of internet users, online communication, and the always-on culture of the internet. To deal with these, we should protect ourselves, take the right measurement, and with the involvement of government or authority