Demand for food is increasing worldwide. What is the cause of this? What measures can the international community take to meet this demand?

An abundance and a variety of food has been highlighting the wealthiness of any society. The amount of nutrients required for the humanity is constantly rising. This essay will discuss the primary reasons behind this phenomenon as well as provide some viable solutions to satisfy rising needs.

The major cause of the increase in the food’s demand is the human population, which has been growing exponentially over the past centuries. This means that the overall amount of food that is necessary to satisfy needs of every person and prevent them from starvation changes proportionally, provided that the demand of each individual has remained at the same level. In addition to that, new living standards entails a richer diversity of various meat products in a peoples’ diets, which implies the rise of agriculture purchased by farmers all over the world. For example, according to the study of the United Nations organization, the positive birth/death ratio is a main reason for higher demand on crops and vegetables, especially in developing countries. In other words, the growth of the number of people is considered the primary reason of the phenomenon.

However, the solution exists in regards to the above-mentioned issues. The genetically modified crops are able to address the mentioned problem by increasing the size of a crop and the amount of nutrients inside it. Hence, an individual would consume less food that possesses genetic modifications that ordinary food. For instance, the university of Cambridge has reported that GMO is capable to undertake the entire supply of the humanity keeping the area of agricultural fields the same. Thus, gene engineering can tackle the discussed problem in an efficient manner.

In conclusion, this essay has highlighted the main causes of the phenomenon and suggested a feasible approach for sovling it.