Demand for food is increasing worldwide What is the cause of this What measures can the international community take to make sure the supply of food is enough

One of the major concern for the agriculture sector is the increasing requirement for food products across the globe. A possible reason is the ever growing population and their dietary requirements. In order to over come this situation the government can provide farmers with more land and modern technology to cultivate more crops to meet the increasing demand for the food.

An increase in the population size is a main cause for food scarcity. The current population size is 7.8 billion, and it is still growing at a faster rate. As the population size increases globally, more food is being consumed leading to an imbalance in demand and supply chain. Apart from this, many people with high income can spend more in buying more than required food products creating a situation of scarcity for the poor. A survey conducted by Times food, stated that 60% of food waste is generated from the houses of rich people, which could rather have been used to provide for the poor people.

There arise a need to take steps in order to increase the food production. First, government shall help the farmers to have an access to more cultivable lands, which will help in more yield. Second, as the technology advances, new farming methods like good quality of fertilizers, better irrigation system, advance machine in ploughing can be of a great help to the farmers. For instance, in USA most of the work on farms are done by machines and very less labour work is required on the field. So, such technology can be shared with other countries too, that contributes major amount of food produce. Also, countries with surplus amount of food can take a responsibility to share their yield with others, so that nobody starves to death.

In conclusion, population will keep rising more and more in the coming years, so nations can come together and share their food produce to meet the demand of the world. Also, government of the countries that majors in food production, can help its farmers with better cultivable land and better farming technology.