In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impacts of ageing populations.

There has been an accelerating trend of people who live longer in industrial countries nowadays. This trend can cause some negative effects, and some effective solutions should be produced to tackle this problem.

To begin with, there are some negative impacts of the rise in average life expectancy. Firstly, the increase in longevity tends to impose heavy burdens on medical care systems. A clear illustration is that the elderly seem to face health problems such as diabetes or cancers. Therefore, they can frequently need to take care of doctors or hospitals. Secondly, because old people often encounter health issues, it can exert adverse impacts on the job of other family members. For instance, they must devote a large amount of time to pay attention to the elderly. Finally, the tendency of people who live longer can put financial burdens of the state budget. For example, the state must pay a big pension for those individuals.

Governments should come up with some workable solutions to the issue of the increase in lifespan. The first solution is that the authorities should encourage old citizens to follow a healthy lifestyle. For instance, doing exercises every day helps people become more physically stronger. This acts as a precursor so that old residents rarely need to be assisted by health sectors. Additionally, the government can raise the retirement age, this leads to the reduction in money paid for retirees.

In conclusion, some negative influences can be caused by lifespan rise, and some actions should be taken to dealt with this problem.