With the development of online communication, people will never be alone and will always be able to make new friends. To what extent do you agree?

It is true that in the era of the Internet human beings can build their relationships via online communication. Although there are good arguments both for and against this view, I believe it depends on different reasons.

I completely concur with the idea that it is easy to expand their social circle given the development of online communication. Firstly, online communication helps people build up their own profiles on the Internet as there are various social networks such as Facebook or Twitter. This would bring their information to other people in the same major. Secondly, by entering the information of what schools they attended in the past, social media might connect them to their old friends who did not keep in touch with them for a long time. If social networks had not been invented, people would not have had any opportunities to find their old friends, even ones in their childhood.

However, I believe that people are prone to feel lonely with the development of social media. The first prominent justification is that the more people depend on social media, the less they pay attention to their real-life families. Furthermore, the millennial generation now inclines to focus on polishing up their profiles with a range of their seemingly happy pictures. These pictures, in fact, do not often reveal people’s real lives. Last but not least, some social media causes children to be addicted to these applications. For instance, there is even an application called Facebook rehab to help the users get Facebook addiction under control.

In conclusion, while reasons can be given to justify that online communication could help people to expand our circle of friends, I believe this is not an accurate statement under any circumstances.