Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that an increase in the sales of prevalent consumer merchandises is originated from advertising rather than our real demands. There are good arguments both for and against this view, but I believe this depends on different reasons.

I completely concur with the idea that advertising leads to higher consumption of some ubiquitous consumer goods. The first prominent justification is that advertising has been manipulating the consumer behavior of consumers. It is true that advertisers strive to persuade consumers that buying a commodity will make them happier. Furthermore, the purpose of advertising is causing consumers to live in a consumer culture. This means that as soon as advertising occurred, people inclined to follow the latest trend and associate certain brands with higher status. Following latest trendy outfit is a prime example for consumerism which is simulated by advertising. Consequently, the increasing sales of some popular consumer products stem from the manipulation of advertisers.

However, I believe that some common consumer goods are also driven by the real needs of the community. First, people have more demands for some consumer goods in order to have better health. In today’s busy world, the health aspect of consumer goods plays a more vital role in our awareness. The whole food, for instance, is one of the consumer goods gaining popularity by real demands. Second, there are increasing sales of high-tech products which are indispensable for consumers nowadays. As a matter of fact, without electronic devices, people would fail to deal with a ton of tasks in work as well as daily activities. These commodities even create more real demands for people to have higher living standards.

In conclusion, while reasons can be given to justify that advertising is the reason for increasing the sales of common consumer goods rather than the real demands of people, I believe this is not an accurate statement under any circumstances.