The development of tourism contributes to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

The growth of tourism industry has made English the most widely spoken language all over the world. It is argued that English may predominant all over other languages and eventually lead to their disappearances. Much as having one language definitely bring potential benefits on economy along with mutual understanding, this also has some hardships people have to cope with.

First and foremost, there is no denying that the people can reap a plethora of merits when using only one language in every aspects of life. Initially, having a single language spoken in the world will make it much easier to foster inter-cultural communication between distinct cultural backgrounds. Sharing the same language facilitates transmission of ideas, values, and religious beliefs, which will make an enormous contribution to diminish the probability of creating conflicts at times when differing beliefs collide. Another evident benefit of this phenomenon is that it plays an integral part in the process of boosting the national economy. With all people speaking a language, there will be less barriers as well as misunderstanding among countries, which leads to much more efficacious trade negotiations, a sharp increase in foreign investments, resulting in a healthy world economy.

Nonetheless, I believe that people also have to face up with some difficulties proceeding from this phenomenon. At the outset, having only one language spoken means that other languages accompanied by their cultural identity will disappear. In all likelihood, individuals will find it so difficult to inhibit their time-honored/long-standing culture with centuries- old customs. The world cultural diversity with unique traditions and perspectives from each country will be driven on the verge of being at a complete loss. In addition to it, the above mentioned drawback is the main cause to the collapse of the tourism industry. The same culture and language make it unnecessary for people to travel with the aim of broadening their horizon about distinct cultural backgrounds. As a consequence, it is likely that there will be a significant fall in the numbers of tourists in each nation, which inevitably exerts an adverse impact on the national economy where tourism is a backbone industry.

To conclude, I strongly believe that maintaining indigenous culture and languages should be prioritized to ensure a rich world heritage for future generations.