Developments in technology have brought various environmental problems. Some believe that people need to live simpler lives to solve environmental problems. Others, however, believe technology is the way to solve these problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is true that technological advances have had negative impacts on the environment. While living simple lives is considered as a key solution to address environmental issues, I would argue that technology can be the answer to tackle these problems.

On the one hand, it is believed that enjoying life with the use of less sophisticated technology could reduce negative effects of this on the environment. Firstly, restricting the overuse of high-tech equipment which consumes electricity could develop a more environmentally friendly lifestyle. For example, the high level of greenhouse gases emissions which mostly stem from a significant increase in the use of electric devices including air – conditioners, water heaters and TV -could be controlled if users reduce/limit their dependence on them. Secondly, instead of chemical fertilizer, it is more beneficial for the environment if farmers use organic manure. Despite the fact that chemicals after being processed by machinery could be convenient and easy to stimulate plants to grow, they could pollute not only soil but also water and air.

On the other hand, I believe that technological achievements play pivotal roles in environmental protection. Firstly, technology can generate electricity from alternative resources, which raises the prospect of a renewable energy era. If solar energy, wind and wave power are all developed, people will be able to halt the consumption of electricity produced from non-renewable resources including coal and fuel. Secondly, thanks to technological innovations, people can take advantage of their accomplishments to apply them in manufacturing processes in industry to minimize irreparable damage. For instance, waste treatment systems can deal with the problems of water pollution.

In conclusion, although living simpler lives probably resolves environmental degradation, it seems to me that developments in technology can greatly contribute to figure out possible solutions for this.