Directors of large organizations earn much higher salaries than ordinary employees do. Some people think it is necessary, but others hold that it is unfair. Discuss both views and give your own opinions.

In the contemporary age, it is a well-known fact that board managers receive a significantly higher paycheck than their staff while many individuals would oppose it. This essay will elaborate on both views and argue in favour of the former opinion.

On the one hand, being paid much lower than the board of management may appear to be unfair to some employees. The first worth-mentioning argument perhaps is that staffs work for the same amount of time as their bosses and it seems unsatisfied when they are paid less. In some cases, directors even get a more flexible timetable and are not required to show up at the office every day while their employees have to meet the minimum working hours to be paid fully. Furthermore, several positions may not get the commission based on their performance whereas the board always receive a bonus which derives from the annual profit of the company. This can create a sense of discrimination among the staffs and reduce their productivity.

On the other hand, it seems reasonable for directors to earn more money than the average workers due to their workloads and responsibilities within the organization. It is true that directors have to deal with more critical issues and requires more problem-solving skills than the employees. For instance, a mid-level staff can not take care of profound matters such as implementing long-term strategy or improving market share of the company, which are daily discussions in board meetings. In addition, directors hold responsibilities concerning legal issues and corporate social duties. If a major problem occurs, the director have to present it to the stakeholders and take the lead to solve it. This can be extremely risky and demanding for an employee and thus, directors should be highly reward for their effort.

In conclusion, while many people consider that paying directors higher wages than their staff is an unfairness, I belive that the boards should receive worthy salaries which is equivalent to their contribution and duties.