Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of tourism.

Nowadays, many countries around the world consider tourism as a main source of income but this can also bring a lot of problems if it is not managed in a correct way. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this issue and provide a logical conclusion in detail below.

The two main advantages of developing the tourism industry are a boost in the country’s economy and a large number of new job openings for the local people. To start with, the tourists have demanded to find a place to relax and enjoy themselves with their families or friends. It is common to see those people spending too much money on things such as hotel services, food, transportation, and amusement parks. This means communities here have access to great various job opportunities. For instance, on a national holiday, almost all people tend to travel so business owners raise employment more people for position service employees in restaurants, hotels, and others.

Despite the positive effects, an influx of tourists also brings with them many problems. To be specific, more and more people are less aware of throwing rubbish everywhere, such as it is common to see piles of trash appear after large numbers of visitors leave a place. This is not to mention that more business infrastructure dumps the waste into the environment without the exact waste process causing serious environmental pollution. In addition, appealing to many visitors allows local people access to different modern cultures. For instance, they give up usual handcraft jobs to build business infrastructure without thinking because of the purpose of earning much money.

To sum up, when a country opens for tourism, the population will be the beneficiary of the modern facilities and quality jobs in the service sector. However, tourism not only causes environmental pollution but also erodes traditional practices through the dominating influences from the outside.