Finland may have cold, dark winters, but the northern lifestyle clearly suits its citizens who have helped put the country at the top of the World Happiness Report for the third consecutive year (they were at number five in 2017). With a score of 7.889, Finland has once again set the tone for other nations when it comes to factors like social support, a healthy life expectancy, freedom, perceptions of corruption, and dystopia. As a country, Finland offers its inhabitants and visitors access to the water, vast wilderness with national parks and ski resorts, and the country's iconic Lapland region — home to the Sami people, reindeer, and the northern lights.

Citizens of Madagascar — an island off the coast of south-west Africa — are very poor, with 90% of its inhabitants surviving on less than $2 a day. Water and sanitation are a particularly bad, with a sub-index score of just 15.91.

WRITING: CONTRASTING LIVING STANDARD

Of late, the living standards of citizens have been a prevailing concern significant in the world. Also, due to various reasons, developed and underdeveloped countries have obvious differences about this. This essay will elaborate on the contrasting of this issue.

To begin with, the governments in developed countries actually attach special importance to the investment in education, health, and nutrition services. This means citizens are getting their basic needs to reduce serious problems in society such as analphabetic, jobless, and sickness. In addition, this is a helpful human resource that contributes to promoting the country's growth in the future. As a result, people become happier and more comfortable with the quality of their life that could help them escape from poverty. For instance, Finland where the administration will accommodate the resident with useful facilities for supporting a better life is one of the countries at the top of the World Happiness Report for the third consecutive year (they were at number five in 2017).

However, some countries have unfavorable weather and terrain that affect the environment, the health, and the standard of living of their community there. This is not to mention that rapid population growth causes high pressure on socio-economic leading to short of accommodation being forced them to destroy the forest. This means everything is getting so bad that it is hardly easy for earning a living due to having a little bit of knowledge when they don't have access to formal education as a child. For example, citizens of Madagascar who with 90% of its inhabitants surviving on less than $2 are extremely poor, and forcing them must have applied the last resort such as eating insects and fruits or red cactus tubers.

To summarize, I believe that through contrasting between developed and underdeveloped countries, people always want to improve better their living standards. Because achievement is not an overnight occurrence, instead it takes time and effort.