Many old buildings protected by law are part of a nation’s history. Some people think they should be knocked down and replaced by new ones.

How important is it to maintain old buildings?

Should history stand in the way of progress?

In fact, many countries have realized the importance of historic buildings, which have tried to preserve one's through law. However, a group of people believes that the governments should be considered to avoid waste of money and to rebuild new modern buildings. In my opinion, maintaining old buildings is essential since they contain a lot of historical values and give benefits for economic development of the country.

To begin with, heritage buildings play a significant role in enhancing the young generation's knowledge about the historical events that occurred in the country. Also, this carries the historical values to form traditional culture's country. This means by teaching about these buildings, teachers can instill in their students a sense of patriotism and pride in their heritage. One of the examples would be the battle at Independence Palace in VietNam which played a vital role in Southerners' freedom struggle. On 30th April yearly, they have remembered the heroic event and have appreciated the value of peace.

On the other hand, there is an argument that old buildings withhold a large amount of unfit space causing an effect on the progress of the country but I do not agree with this opinion. Because It brings many benefits for the country, especially local people. As a result, they become one of the tourist destination places. In addition, national management is promoting these historical places which attract an enormous number of tourists from foreign countries to impact on the positive increase in the country’s economy. Such as the old quarter Hoi An, where there are stunning landscapes on the lantern festival, is one of the most visited places in Viet Nam.

To summarize, if we built new modern infrastructures, the young generation would be disappointed and not respected the history of the country. From my viewpoint, these buildings need to be protected as they represent the historical image and earn revenue for the country.