Fresh water has always been a limited resource in some parts of the world. Today, however, growing worldwide demand has made this a global problem.

What are the causes of the increased demand and what measure could governments and individuals take to respond to this problem?

Throughout history, fresh water has been known as an essential basic need for people in particular that plays a significant role in the world in general. However, in the present, due to various reasons, the scarcity condition of natural resources has become a global problem. This essay will elaborate on the causes of this issue and suggest viable steps that should be taken as a response.

There are compelling reasons for the shortage of fresh water. The main reason is due to the rapid population growth in some areas. It is common to see having a new additional member in the family will increase pressure on the source of freshwater. In fact, rising demand for freshwater which we can not live without. This is not to mention that developed and developing countries promote major industrialization and urbanization. This means freshwater from rivers and lakes is used for manufacturing processes such as chemical reactions, cleaning toxic types of equipment, or swimming pools at the resort.

On the other hand, national management needs to actively propagate to the population that freshwater shortage will be affected globally in the future. It is common to see that couples should have been family planning only to give two babies keeping the global population under control. Furthermore, encouraging people should use vegetarian foods instead of water-intensive foods such as nuts and red meat. Moreover, the government should also find effective techniques for desalination of seawater into clean water, which will help in increasing the growing requirement of fresh water.

In conclusion, the scarcity of fresh water is a growing global issue, there are various means and methods available, by which both the government and individuals can prevent this from worsening.