Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: Books are not needed any more because people can read information on computers.

Nowadays, information is the most valuable property that anyone can have, and, with gaining information, one would have power, money and fame. One of the easiest ways of obtaining information is via reading books. Some may hold the opinion that reading books can be substituted by getting information from computers, but others have a negative attitude toward it. As far as I am concerned, I agree that computers are good replacement for books because all the books of a library can be stored in a computer, which is portable. Electronic books are much less expensive, and in computers, audio-visual facilities can be utilized for learning goals.

A great number of people need to look into their books for information as a part of their jobs. Carrying many books everywhere is not a wise choice, so by using a computer one can have all his or her books with him or her, and by the searching option, which is provided by computers, he or she can find the desirable data in no time; thus, by the assistance of computers, one can do so in an accurate, fast, and practical manner.

With the current recession, which is happening all around the world, everyone needs to spend less in order to balance his or her financial status. Books, because of materials and manpower, which is used in the process of making them, cannot be cheap. On the other hand, electronic information does not need any of them and can be copied with almost no cost. Hence, using information which is provided by electronic devices would save us a great deal of time and money.

Everyone can find a common ground that reading a book for a long period is doomed to get monotonous. A solution to this problem is to add multi-media features to books. Computers can provide an environment, in which using audio-visual facilities is conceivable. Thanks to these features, namely, movies, audio-clips, quizzes, the person who is studying will not get bored and also will be motivated to learn better; moreover, the information which one gains through these processes will not be forgotten easily.

Technology changes everything around us so fast that adaptation with these changes can be rough, but it facilitates a great number of actions which we are obliged to take. Using computers in order to obtain information is more profitable than reading books, because with a computer one can have thousands of books with him in anyplace, purveying electronic books needs less money, also with the help of computers multi-media features can be a means of learning. On the other hand, reading a book and touching its cover and smelling the paper always deliver a nostalgic feeling, which cannot be replaced with anything.