Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Knowing numerous subjects in shallow ways or major in a single subject in a deeper way has been a convincing topic. I support people to excavate a single or few academic subjects rather than know a lot but not deep. Specialize in one subject is more difficult and its payback is more worthwhile. Experts in one area cannot be swapped into people who know many subjects broadly while not profession. What's worse, in academic fields, know very shallow means no nothing at times.

It is tougher to dig into a specific academic subject than to learn pieces of knowledge from many subjects. In most universities, students are required to take courses including broad academic subjects. As I know, these courses are usually reach to the introduction level and seldom make real profits to students.However, students' formal majors are more important and relating to their future path closely.

Mastering on one subject can bring people job. For example, a person who major in machine learning can have the profession that cannot be replaced by other people who did not spend enough time on it. A person knows many subjects cannot go deeper without efforts especially on academic aspects.

Having wide range of many academic subjects sometimes equals to know nothing since simple understanding cannot produce any contribution to the field. Take painting for example. Normal people can distinguish the different types of paintings and artistic works while only the profession person can make those ideas into reality.

Major in one subject is outweigh to know a lot of academic subjects. Those working and preparing time is hard to be copied. Specialize in one subject can make actual benefits while broad but shallow knowledge is less profitable. The importance of major in a specific area of academic subject cannot be emphasized more.